Taking Stock: A New Series

Because its almost like writing a diary!

I decided to start a new series seeing as I have moved back to Nigeria and I would like some way to document my thoughts and actions. I also thought it would make the blog a bit more personal so I could connect more with my lovely audience! This series is one I picked up from Sharon Mundia ofย This Is Ess, who picked it up from someone else and so on. I plan to do these once every month. If I forget, pinch me! Or remind me, whichever works. Also, let me know what you guys are upto! I am good at giving bitch faces around the place but actually care about what people are thinking (sometimes…lol jk!)

Making: lists in my head that I plan to occupy my time accomplishing (let’s hope it does not end with making the lists lol)

Cooking: absolutely nothing because I am lazy on my butt right now. Don’t worry, I am alive so food is coming from somewhere.

Drinking: so much tea, from Tetley classic to green mint tea

Reading: Leota’s Garden by Francine Rivers. One of my favorite writers who manages to toe the Christian/ reality line quite well, so check her out!

Wanting: a plane ticket to an exotic location with everyone I love. Oh and make that business class. I would like to stretch out on my way there, wouldn’t want to be full of aches and pains now.

Playing: Yoga by Janelle Monae on repeat because it makes me feel quite sexy when I work out, and we all know that’s a confidence booster

Wasting: my sleep because I just can’t close my eyes and I know one day I will regret it. Right??

Creating:ย a number of sketches and ideas for clothes I would like to create for my wardrobe. Exciting stuff no?

Wishing: I had a better phone at the moment so I could Instagram more often but I see a good one coming in the near future. Amen?

Enjoying: my mosquito free house with constant electricity, which is not a regular in Nigeria

Wondering: how I will survive houses without full time electricity once I actually move into my new adult home

Loving:ย home food because itsย been a bit but hating the need to balance it with my diet and control it all

Hoping: I will make friends in my new job and town (am I the only extrovert who is still always scared of making new friends?)

Marvelling: at the shoes I accumulated in the last year. I could fall asleep in the midst of all of them for happiness and/or comfort

Needing: a good great massage because the gym killed my muscles and getting up and sitting down has me wondering how I will survive old age

Smelling: my freshly laundered clothes daily at home, such a good feel to it. College life does not give this to you, trust me. But I am sure you all already know what it is.

Wearing: my sports bra and track pants because I literally feel like I could break into exercises at any point (or I should at least be prepared to do so).

Noticing: that time can move pretty slowly when there is not a lot to do and sleep escapes you (one sheep, two sheep, three sheep…)

Knowing: that my journey for the next short period of my life will be difficult but I can do it, because frankly I have no choice. If I plan to be great, then I better gear up for it.

Thinking: about how I wish I didn’t have to exercise to be fit (I know, I know, dreams indeed)

Feeling: a lot of emotions in this transition stage of my life but trying to be brave

Bookmarking: a lot of youtube cardio exercises for the moments I plan to break into exercise without warning

Giggling: at myself when I try to stand or sit due to the pain from the gym. I can imagine how ridiculous I look

What about you guys?? I would love to know what your thoughts are and what you are wishing, loving, smelling (even if its some horrible fart in the elevator lol) and so on.

 

P.S: You like the series or nah?

29 thoughts on “Taking Stock: A New Series

  1. Hey Missy!! Love this new post, totally refreshing and obviously missing you so makes me feel like I am closer to what you are doing. And no, you are not the only extrovert that is scared of making new friends but we always eventually meet great people. Relax, this year is going to be great. I cant wait for all the great stories that are to come from you when we meet again. Amen to the phone and business ticket to some exotic Island.xx

    1. Hi hot mummy!!! I miss you too so much! and of course i miss my little biracial boyfriend, sigh. how will I ever find someone as good as him again? I really pray I make new friends without problems ๐Ÿ™‚ and I cannot wait to tell you ALL about it. Please tell me you might be thinking of visiting Kenya in December because then we might see sooner than we think! Im glad you like the post and hopefully, when I do it every month, you’ll remember me close :* my love to your Kip and Mike! xx

    1. thanks Cara! it definitely felt good to share. I suck at writing diaries and journal entries, which I’ve always wanted to do and this ended up being a good compromise ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  2. I’ve heard a lot about Francine Rivers. I should add one of her books to my to-read list.

    Love the series. I especially look forward to reading about your transition into “real life” as it is colloquially put. All the best! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Oh yes, you should definitely read her! My favorite are her series and my number 1 book is a “Voice In The Wind” and the ones that follow ๐Ÿ™‚

      I look forward to updating you on my transition! Hopefully, crossing fingers, it goes good ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for the wishes boo! and congrats on Huffington again ๐Ÿ˜‰

      1. Thank you- for the recommendation and for the congratulations! I will be sure to get myself a copy. I actually haven’t read much Christian fiction. The only one I have read is Frank Perretti- I’ve read two of his titles and got a third. If you haven’t already, I HIGHLY recommend “This Present Darkness”. lol, the title had me feeling somehow when I first picked it up, but it is so good that I consider it one of the best books I have ever read, all genres considered.

  3. Enjoyed reading this. I wish you all the best and lots of reminders to breathe and live on this journey called life. Hugs.
    Also, friends are good too! I hope you find lots (or at least a few) that will make you grateful every day!

  4. Love this series… there are so many issues for me to “take stock of” in a positive way. I will journal these though. Blessings!

  5. Hi there,

    Clicked on your link via This Is Ess’ page ๐Ÿ™‚

    Francine Rivers is such an amazing writer! When I decided to start reading I’d always been drawn to self-help books until one of my colleagues recommended one of her books to me, Redeeming Love. I can’t even put into words how much the story captured me. I’m now reading the Mark of the Lion series by her. Definitely an author worth recommending.

    1. I LOVE the Mark of the Lion series!!!! And I just finished reading Redeeming Love for the millionth time. She is such a great author, its ridiculous lol! thanks for visiting! come again ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. You blog is beautiful and your pictures are amazing. Please do not sue me (lol) because as a beginner in blogging, guess I will use your blog as a guide, so maybe someday you might think you are in yours when it is mine actually. I love your page and my comments will keep rolling in.

    http://www.lifestreasury.com

  7. I’m relating to you when it comes to amassing loads of shoes and not realizing it until you’re moving back. Oh yeah, and the being brave during transition/ impending transition time. laughing at you for being an extrovert that’s scared of making new friends…don’t worry, we don’t bite. I’m always up for making new friends especially those that have kinky hair and love fashion. whoop! whoop!

Leave a Reply

